Neddy has company.

So I get an email from a student who I have no idea who he is, and I swear I am not making this up, in it he says:

I haven’t been attending class lately [read, have not attended since that one time on day 1] and I was wondering if there is anything I can do to get caught up in class.  I had registered for this class with a friend of mine who ended up switching out, but when I looked on Blackboard today I was still registered in this course.  I don’t want to withdraw and I was wondering what I could do to get all the assignments and work I have missed.

I had to read it a couple of times to get the gist, but it seems to be that he thought that his buddy dropping the class would somehow magically communicate to the Registrar that he wanted to drop as well. This is a new one on me me.

In other news, Neddy is cross with me. Let me contextualize.

I, in company with the majority of known Earth Professors, have a little diagram, grid or table on the door of my office. This grid, has, listed across the top of the columns, the names of the days of the week, and down the left hand side, numerical representations of a range of hours of the day, such that the grid forms little boxes, each representing a block of time, that is to say, an hour of a day.

(Artist’s conception)

 

 

 

 

 

You get the gist, I am sure, dear Readers, because you are not morons.

So, Neddy, having BEEN to see me in my office hour at least 3 times, emails me to complain about the “diagram on your office door” because, apparently, it is “not clear”. HOW it is not clear, is, of course, not clear.

It’s a good thing I am all calm because we had a week off, and I spent it here:

5 thoughts on “Neddy has company.

  1. V's Herbie

    But… he’s at your office, and it clearly says “class” on your grid, and he’s in your class, so that means you are inside your office hiding from him, right?
    😀

    Reply
  2. fillyjonk

    You only have to hold 3 hours of office hours a week? JELLUS.

    OTOH…I don’t have weekly Meeting Hells. (We meet only as needed, or when the Dean insists we have to meet because we haven’t been meeting enough. We’re a small and collegial department and can work most stuff out via e-mail or face-to-face discussion between the people involved….)

    I have office hours posted as Day of Week: Times I will be In and I still have people not understanding it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

