The boring semester of no drama ends.

Dear Blog, I am sorry for being so horridly neglectful. I blame my students, who for the most part have been polite, hardworking, good-humoured and present. This makes for an awesome class, but it means I lacked the necessary raeg to get me past the fatigue of teaching 4 days a week in order to post. Also, not much happened.

Highlights, then:

I got an evaluation from last semester which was nothing short of a rave. This caused me to faint away, and I did not revive for a day or two. Apparently, there were several people who said “two thumbs up, would learn again” (I had 5 students out of 17 this semester who were repeat offenders, which may account for the overall good vibe in the classroom), and some of these people would even recommend me to their friends.

The incredibly difficult and loud student who complained to me that I wasn’t taking her learning disability into account dropped the class after I asked “what disability?” and then followed up with the Disability Office to find out whether she even had paperwork. (Turns out she does, but didn’t actually request accommodations until after she yelled at me. They kicked her ass.) So that was a win for sanity, although she did have the potential to become another Pineapple. Chalk it up as a loss for entertainment, I guess.

My older student (by which I mean the woman in the class who was my age) was peer pressured by her religion to get married and have 5 kids straight out of high school coped with adversity and me riding her to think harder and managed to get a respectable grade. I didn’t even mind when she hugged me after the exam. Well, not that much. People like that make me grateful that although my mother is a headcase, she is a headcase who believes in education for women, and had no desire to impose her experience of marriage and spawning at age 18 on me.

I was knitting during the exam, a practice I adopted after Sarcastic Bastard once got a comment from students about how when he graded papers he made “scary faces” that caused them to wet themselves with fear.  At the end of the exam, one of the students handed in her paper, and then said, a little tentatively, “can I ask you a question?” To which, I replied in the affirmative, thinking she wanted to ask about the final. Instead she said, “I am knitting this scarf in stockinette, and I was wondering if you knew how to stop the edges from curling.” I love that students think I am some kind of learning guru, and font of information on all subjects. Earlier in the semester, I impressed another student by mentioning that I had managed (through some kind of technomancy, no doubt) to get hold of a particular computer game before its advertised release date.

I am apparently utterly mellow. I suspect it will not last. Also, I am twotting desultorily, so I add the feed to this page.

4 thoughts on “The boring semester of no drama ends.

Leave a Reply

