Mishmash of nothing much

I have a bunch of thoughts, none of which are particularly edifying or coherent.

Those rat bastards at RYS are “on hiatus”. This makes me want to bite things. Reading RYS is, some mornings, the only thing that can get me into class. Sarcastic Bastard (also a regular RYS reader and contributor) says we should just email them and say if they won’t do it, we will.  Maybe we could start a movement.

For Halloween, StepLadder was dressed as follows:

Which I show you, not just for you to marvel at my skills of a seamstress, but because I wanted to make an observation about old TV. We have Seasons 1 and 2 of The Muppet Show, on DVD, and they are on high viewing rotation. Professor Birkenstock said his kids are absolutely in love with Get Smart, which made me remember how much I loved it when I was 7 or so. My mother was a tv Nazi, and only let me watch one show a day, and that was my show of choice. Recently, I aquired an episode of The Addams Family, which is another one which goes right to the 8-year-old sense of humour, even though it is in – horrors! – black and white.

I like my child to have pop culture literacy, which I think I have observed previously, and it occurs to me that some of these older shows are so ingrained in her parents’ generation, that watching them may give her some insight into why we are so weird. Of course, heaven forbid that I would ever breathe a word of such a thing to her, lest I suck the fun out.

It also tickles me that I can tell her to Kermitflail, and she knows what I mean.

In unrelated pop-culture news:

You don’t have to live in USistan to be delighted and relieved. And a big thanks to Lorelei for the gif which expresses these feelings so effectively.

Finally, some of you may have seen SJ mention that we have made a forum called Uppity Women. If not, oh, hey, we made this really cool forum. Come along and check us out. We talk about feminism and pop culture and all sorts of related (and unrelated) issues.

Coming soon: the tale of the Flasher and the Spitting Boy, and how I made a local Vice Principal pee his pants.

4 thoughts on “Mishmash of nothing much

  1. Sile

    That Kermit costume is probably the best MADE costume I’ve seen this year. Though the picture makes Kermit look slightly sad, even though he’s just eaten a child. 😉 Maybe SL gives him indigestion?

    I also shall introduce my future spawn (heaven forbid, right?) to the “classics”. Muppet Show, Old school Sesame Street (pre-Elmo, plz!), Fraggle Rock, plus all the shows I watched as a kid that don’t seem retarded to me now. Electric Company, anyone? 😀 I am a major edutational television buff. Nerdy, ain’t it?

    Reply
  2. feckless

    I am pretty sure that almost all the Electric Company stuff is/was available on YouTube, or Google Video, or some other set of tubes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

