Pineapple Boy is not my only moron.

The economic crisis is worrying, I know. It’s even worrying to bohemians without investment portfolios. However, I have some good news on that front. Apparently, a guy in my class is sorting it out for us. Unfortunately, it does mean that he can’t make it to class. He did email and let me know, though:

And I’m extremely sorry that I could not come to class today because I had
a very important meeting with the bank today. As we know about the
worldwide stock market crisis. I had to go and give them some special
instructions.
Sorry for any inconvenience I caused you.

Now, it is a concern that he also seems to be confessing that the whole mess may possibly be his fault, but on the other hand, he did apologise. I particularly like that he apologised for the “inconvenience”. I like a guy who thinks big enough to call 700 billion dollars for a bailout and a plummeting stock market an “inconvenience”.

I was talking to Sarcastic Bastard and my other officemate about Pineapple Boy today. Sarcastic Bastard suggested I could have a stern word about the eating in class, and he asked if I had advised Pineapple Boy to drop the class. “I kind of hinted,” I said, “but at this point, I am more interested in keeping him around for the lulz.”

Lest you think I am head and shoulders the meanest person in the office, I offer you the example of our other officemate – the Poetess – who joined us last year as a rather mild-mannered but interesting Creative Writing instructor. We have been assiduously cultivating her into a bitter and twisted harpy. Today she taped a little coffee-cup shaped card from Starbucks on the door. It’s a “we’re hiring” ad, and she had artistically added to the text a note about the deadlines for dropping classes. After I had finished laughing, I said “That is so mean, people will think I did it.” “Score!” she replied.

3 thoughts on “Pineapple Boy is not my only moron.

  1. Bobbie

    I’m thinking you need to cut that other pineapple some slack–he obviously has some pull, if yesterday’s global movements and their broad impact are any measure. Keep him around, work hard to humanize him, and perhaps all of corporata will be the better for it. It’s all now on YOU, ‘ladder.

    Reply
  2. V's Herbie

    Yay! you’re back! I had given up, but then SJ linked you and you’ve got amusing anecdotes!

    Yes, do keep pineapple boy around for the stories… I don’t TA again until next semester and I could use the warm up.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: May I please be excused? My brain is full. « What Ladder?

Leave a Reply

