New Year’s Resolution: Post MOAR

Since I got this shiney new computer, and I can blog from anywhere, I figure I really should blog from anywhere.

We’ve taken the spawn skating the last couple of days. She seems to have taken to it like a duck to water – she has her father’s native athletic abilities not mine. It’s nice to have a rink just down the road, and to see her enjoying it, just because it is fun.

I thought about asking if she wanted lessons, but people take skating lessons so seriously in this town; there are girls in her ballet class who are there because, at age 7, they are taking skating seriously enough that they do other activities, like ballet, to support their skating. Getting up at 6 in the morning to go skating 3 or more times a week seems like a recipe for sucking the fun right out of it, to me.

Of course, I say this as a parent who makes her kid go to ballet and violin, so maybe I am just one-eyed and pushy in my own way, but I hope not. A couple summers ago we tried diving, since she was really keen to do it, and all the kids there were taking it really seriously. At 8. One mother said her child was doing diving because she had fractured her wrist horribly – twice! – in gymnastics, and “her career was over”. At age nine, and her mother said this in front of her.

I don’t want my kid to be an athlete (my grouchiest pal would say that is because I am an incurable egghead), but I love it that she is good at physical activities and confident in her own body. That’s such a difficult gift for girls to retain as they grow older.

img_7895.jpg

3 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolution: Post MOAR

  1. superjive

    You should post moar. Because then you can look back and you will remember what you had for lunch and how you were mad about something stupid, and you can say, “Yeah, well, I’m three years’ smarter now.” But still not smart enough. That’s how I feel. And then you can snottily back link yourself from like four years ago.

    That picture is ADORABLE. I hear puffy coat.

    Reply
  2. L

    Speaking as a former competitive figure skater who began taking lessons at six, competed in various national competitions until I was sixteen, and can still land some double jumps and an Axle at 25, I don’t think asking her if she wants to take lessons is a terrible thing. She may not want to, or she may, and she may want to be serious about it. I was serious about skating for about ten years, and I learned a lot about good sports[person]ship, teamwork (I skated in teams as well as individually), humility, falling down, getting up again, and taking advantage of whatever you have going for you, such as ice time. And though I ended up disliking most of the girls I got to know while I was skating (four times a week, a couple hours at a time, when I was competing the most often and testing at my highest level), I also made a lot of friends, got to travel, and learned a lot about what I’m capable of, what I want to do with my life, and what I don’t want to do with my life. For example, I don’t want to be a skating coach, though I probably could coach with so much experience. And I consider myself an egghead, not an athlete, and I have seen myself that way since I was 10 or so. So, I’m totally biased, but skating’s not SO bad. Your spawn may like it. 🙂

    The only downfall as I see it is paying for lessons and ice time. My parents might have more to add to the drawbacks of having kids skate.

    Reply
  3. feckless

    Talking as an ex-professional soccer player and now full-time musician……..Spawn is never going to learn about team-work in a sporting situation. It is just not in her ken.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

